Just Desserts

No word on whether the bar and grill in Punkin Center, Arizona, serves dessert.

It’s not every day that a girl gets to eat a cookie that’s bigger than her head, but that’s exactly what I did a week ago today, when Editor Robert Stieve and I trekked to the top of Mt. Lemmon. You see, we were in Tucson for two media segments, and I convinced Robert to take a little side trip for my upcoming Arizona Highways Camping Guide. I found two great campgrounds to include in the book, and we ventured for the first time to the Cookie Cabin, which is located at the top of the mountain in the hamlet of Summerhaven. We shared a pizza and a giant cookie and dreaded heading back out into the wind that tore across the mountain that day.

Eventually, we did, and it’s a good thing, because I had to hit the road again yesterday. This time, instead of driving south from Phoenix, my husband and I drove north along the Beeline Highway and east along State Route 188 toward Roosevelt Lake. In the town of Tonto, we found the Butcher Hook restaurant. Well, my husband found it, and I didn’t argue with his notion of popping in to see if the restaurant served pie. It did, and we shared a piece of peach.

We drove through the town of Punkin Center on our way back out to the highway, and although we didn’t stop to see if any of the local restaurants served dessert, it was tempting. I figure that our adventures in sweets this week were in honor of our Best Restaurants issue. Sure, that’s it. Either way, my hiking boots will be happy to see me later this week.

— Kelly Kramer, Managing Editor

1 Comment

Filed under Getaways, Hiking, Inside Scoop

One response to “Just Desserts

  1. I’ve had one of those cookies up at Mt. Lemon and dined at all the restaurants on the Roosevelt Lake shores. Not too shabby pie either!

Leave a Reply

