5 Questions for Senior Editor Randy Summerlin

Senior Editor Randy Summerlin and his wife, Viviane, at the Grand Canyon last November.

If you were a punctuation mark, which punctuation mark would you be? Why?

Without any question, at work I’d be an exclamation point! I’m often kind of hyper when it comes to the workplace. I hate to miss deadlines (and rarely do), and I look to other people for the same work pace, so I’m always perceived as in a rush. In my private life, I guess I’m an ellipsis since so many things are continued … or never finished.

Some people would like to buy the world a Coke, but you, as our resident grammarian, might like to buy the world an AP Stylebook. What’s the one AP rule you have a hard time remembering?

I’ve had to live by the AP Stylebook for more than 40 years, so you’d think I have it memorized. Not so. I make a habit of looking up many rules, but the one that always confuses me is the difference between “continuous” and “continual.” I can never remember.

Rumor has it that you can cut a rug. What dance moves are you most known for?

The robot (courtesy of Associate Editor Kelly Kramer).

I guess you could say I can cut a rug, but it didn’t come easy. As a teenager, I was too self-conscious to do the popular dances other than mere boring waltzy-type movements. Now that I recently emerged from my teens, I’ve perfected a twisty, shaky undulating move that pretty much fits any and all dance genres — kind of like Elaine on “Seinfeld.”

Will you please spell the signature dish that your lovely Brazilian wife makes? What is it?

Ah, yes. That would be “feijoada.” It’s the famous so-called “Brazilian national dish.” Its origin goes back centuries to slavery days, and it consists of blacked beans cooked with generous portions of various smoked pork meats, as well as beef cuts. Side dishes include finely chopped, fried collard greens  and onions, rice, orange slices, a tomato-based condiment similar to pico de gallo, and manioc flour. Altogether, the meal is called “feijoada.”

If your life story was turned into a movie, who would play you on the silver screen?

I think I identify a lot with the Tom Hanks character, Captain John H. Miller, in “Saving Private Ryan.” What a sad-but-inspiring story from the Greatest Generation. If I’d been a soldier on D-Day, I could see myself living out that character’s role — and dying doing it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Et Cetera

Leave a Reply

