Sedona Makes Magazine’s List of Best Small Towns to Visit

Courtesy of Sedona Chamber of Commerce

Courtesy of Sedona Chamber of Commerce

As if you needed another reason to make a trip to Red Rock Country: Smithsonian magazine has named Sedona to its list of “20 Best Small Towns to Visit in 2014″ in a story in its April issue.

Here’s what the magazine says: “Approaching Sedona, you will feel your jaw drop as pinnacles, hoodoos and buttes rise—crimson, carmine, burnt sienna, depending on the slant of the sun. The effect makes you want to paint a Sistine Chapel even if you can’t draw a straight line.”

The president of the Sedona Chamber of Commerce, Jennifer Wesselhoff, says being included on the list is an honor. “It’s recognition like this that helps position Sedona as a premier destination in the United States,” Wesselhoff says in a statement. “Kudos to the businesses recognized for top-notch service and world-class products and services.”

Sedona placed No. 8 on the list; the top spot went to Chautauqua, New York. Other listed cities in the Four Corners region include Steamboat Springs, Colorado, and Silver City, New Mexico. To see the full list and the Sedona listing (which includes photographs by frequent Highways contributor John Burcham), click here.

3 Comments

Filed under News

3 responses to “Sedona Makes Magazine’s List of Best Small Towns to Visit

  1. Karen Flowers

    I am curious as to why I seem to get all your emails except for the theme for the Friday fotos. I even get the email with the selections.

    Just wondering,

    Karen

    Sent from my iPad

  2. Reblogged this on travelwithscott and commented:
    As a native Arizonan, I can attest the sheer beauty and majesty of the Red Rocks of Sedona. Of course; anyone who lives here probably has a story to tell about a time when they went to Sedona. My story goes back to when I was just a young boy. My Grandparents lived in Sedona, the real Sedona. The one before it became a tourist”s destination. The Sedona that just the quirky artists and ranchers knew. My Grandfather was the only butcher in the only market in the whole town of Sedona. I can remember taking walks with him up and down Schnebly Hill, fishing in Oak Creek and just loving the area. Now that I am older and more established, I find it is difficult to get back to Sedona as often as I would like. I encourage any of my readers that if you find yourself in Arizona, please make your way to Sedona. You won’t be disappointed.

    Safe Travels.

    Scott

Leave a Reply

