Friday Fotos: Snakes Slithering Across Arizona

Nina Schulz | Bisbee

Nina Schulz | Bisbee

And immediately I regretted it.
I thought how paltry, how vulgar, what a mean act!
I despised myself and the voices of my accursed human education.

And I thought of the albatross
And I wished he would come back, my snake.

 For he seemed to me again like a king,
Like a king in exile, uncrowned in the underworld,
Now due to be crowned again.

 And so, I missed my chance with one of the lords
Of life.
And I have something to expiate:
A pettiness.

 —an excerpt from the D.H. Lawrence poem, “Snake.”

 

3 Comments

Filed under Friday Fotos

3 responses to “Friday Fotos: Snakes Slithering Across Arizona

  1. Reblogged this on blaming the norm and commented:
    Ew.

  2. tom taylor

    I believe the most dangerous time to accidentally step on a rattler is early morning (or when the day is cooler) the rattler is customarily somewhat inactive (due to chill) and since not in motion a little more difficult to see. I hike with a burro and 2 canines. I walk “point” and make sure my canines are in the rear!

  3. Larry

    Ummm, just as an FYI, the snake pictures accredited to “Arianna Grainey | Camp Verde” are AFRICAN gaboon vipers, NOT native arizona species…

Leave a Reply

